Thoughts Uncut

Recently, I tried doing this journal thing, it’s called “Morning Pages.” I’ve heard about it before but I never really had interest because, during college, my mornings were busy as hell. I mean, I have early morning classes, which is usually my fault because I choose to have morning lectures coz I’m sleepy in the afternoon.

Back to the morning pages… Well this kind of journaling is more of a free writing thing, like a stream of thoughts kind of journal. It’s just you writing about whatever comes to your mind and I think the best time to do that is in the morning because what better way to start your day than to have your mind cleared of things, right?

I started last week and I was not consistent at first. Honestly, I’m still not. My longest streak right now is two days in a row. But, so far, I’m having fun. I did two pages per day when I started but I made it one page a day just to start off with the habit first. Maybe I’ll do two next week and then make it three coz most of what I’ve read suggested three pages per day.

I love writing on my journals but filling up a whole page usually depends on my mood. But, here, I’m really trying to fill up the whole page and by far I’m doing a great job at it. And somehow there’s a different kind of fulfillment when I flip through the pages of my notebook and I see them all filled up. (Is it just me being my stationery geek self?)

But what’s really important is that I’m learning a lot of things because of my morning pages. Not just about how to do it better but also about me. It’s only been about two weeks since I started but I’m already learning so much, so I just want to share some of them.

First, I learned how to be more spontaneous with my thoughts, which also helped me write better. I’m a certified overthinker so even when I write I filter my thoughts first. But with the Morning Pages, I let loose of myself and so, I don’t really mind about making sense. And I guess most of the time, I don’t make sense so I don’t really reread my Morning Pages.

Second, it helped process my thoughts better coz when I have them all written down, I can see them more clearly. And it’s really different when you put your thoughts into words. Not that you’ll really feel the difference right away but, for me, it just really gets things off your mind.

Finally, the best thing about this Morning Pages is that it made me learn new things about myself. I don’t know but sometimes I’m surprised I have thoughts running on mind that I didn’t know about. I mean, I get to write good stuff out of nowhere because of it. Plus, it gives an extra inspiration in writing.

Writers write but writing isn’t just for writers.

So, I suggest you try it, too. You don’t have to be very consistent about but it really does help a lot. Filling a whole page can be a problem at first but don’t be hard on yourself. Try doing it one step at a time. Plus, you don’t have to be a good writer to do this, you don’t even have to make sense. Just write your heart out!

Tether

One thought on “Thoughts Uncut

Leave a Reply

