When I grow up, I wanna be…

Have you ever wanted to do your best but ended up feeling like you can’t? Have you ever felt like you’ve done your best but it also feels like you didn’t? Have you ever done your best and still your best wasn’t good enough? Have you ever felt tired doing your best because you feel like it’s not even worth it anymore? Or have you even forgotten how it felt like to do your best?

I remember when I was in preschool, we had a class activity about careers. Our teacher asked us to tell the whole class what we wanted to be when we grow up.

Well here’s what I said: “When I grow up, I want to be a doctor.” You know I can still imagine the little “me” saying this ’cause nothing’s really changed much since then. I mean, up until now, that’s still what I want – I still want to be a medical doctor. (I should say I’m very loyal to my dreams.)

But now, I thought, what if my dream isn’t for me. Sometimes, when the going gets tough, it’s hard to be sure. It feels like you’re doing everything you can but, in the end, you can’t really do anything about it. And so, we feel like giving up.

I’ve read this quote once and it definitely hit me hard.

“One of the hardest decisions you’ll ever face in life is choosing whether to walk away or try harder.”

Don’t you agree?

So… when do we give up? That’s a question I still have to answer myself. But here’s what I’ve got so far. WE DON’T GIVE UP! If there’s one thing I’ve learned in the past, it’s this: Giving up is NEVER an option. Take it from me; I’ve learned it the hard way. Nothing’s ever gonna be worth giving up when it comes to your dreams. ‘Coz the thing about dreams is that it’s not just about doing our best but also becoming the best that we can be.

Here’s another quote:

“When you feel like giving up, remember why you held on for so long in the first place.”

Well, I still hear “me” saying those words so I’m not gonna give up! As they say, “when the going gets tough, the tough gets going.”

Volume

7 thoughts on “When I grow up, I wanna be…

Leave a Reply

