Fear

Daily Prompt: Fearless Fantasies

How would your life be different if you were incapable of feeling fear? Would your life be better or worse than it is now?


For someone like me, someone who fears a lot of things, life would be better without fear. I mean, who wouldn’t want to live a life without limits, right?

I would have chased my dreams without the fear of failure. I would have said what I wanted when I wanted without the fear of being judged. I would have danced myself off in the middle of the street without the fear of being embarrassed. I would have done things my way without the fear of disapproval and rejection. All in all, I think I would have easily been the best version of me without fear.

But I wouldn’t really know. I mean, I can’t even imagine a life without the feeling of fear.

But, you know, fear is a funny thing.

It’s bad because it keeps us from trying new stuff or from taking risks. It usually sets the boundaries we’ve built for ourselves. And sometimes, we can’t even be ourselves because of fear.

But, fear is also good because it keeps us away from harm. Like when animals sense danger, the body’s response is to be frightened so that they’ll keep themselves safe – which, in the animals’ case, is to hide. In our case, that’s how we avoid hurting someone or getting hurt ourselves.

I guess it’s neither black nor white.

Fear is there for a reason. It keeps the balance of things around us – like Yin and Yang. But would I try to live without fear? Absolutely, yes!

Volume

One thought on “Fear

Leave a Reply

