Looking Back…

I know it’s gonna be mainstream but a writer’s gotta do what a writer’s gotta do. So I’m still writing this.

Well, it’s the time of the year again when suddenly everybody feels nostalgic about everything. I don’t know if it’s just me but I don’t like that feeling. Don’t worry I’m not New Year’s version of Grinch. I just don’t like the fact that I’m leaving so much behind me again. (Saying goodbye was never my thing.) But I’ll embrace that feeling for a while and let me share with you lessons I learned this year.

1. You’re not your mistakes. 

“Everybody makes mistakes…..
everybody has those days…..
everybody knows what, what I’m talkin’ ’bout…….
everybody gets that way”

Yeah, you made some mistakes, maybe a lot of them – or maybe even a huge one – but it’s not about that. It’s all about what you did to make it right. Don’t be too hard on yourself! Don’t let your mistakes define who you are.

2. Don’t worry about what others think of you.

It’s never about what others say. It doesn’t matter. Do what makes you happy. Whether it be doing something, going somewhere, or being with someone. It may connote a different meaning to other people but as long as you know for yourself that you’re not doing anything wrong, go for it! Who in the world cares?!?

3. Good things will come your way.

We’ve all been through moments where everything seems to go wrong. Like there’s just no way out of it but we’ve all proven that in the end everything will be okay. It’s always better than it seems.

So let’s all start the new year right and learn from the past. We’ve got another year ahead of us.

Volume

Leave a Reply

