On Regrets

One of my greatest fears is to regret something big – whether by doing it or by not doing it. And I’m sure I’m not the only one.

There’s always that fear of the unknown.

I’m only 18 years old and I can’t name everything I wished I could have done differently, not because I don’t remember them (I clearly do) but because it’s too many to mention. I know! It’s sad.Β I just never run out of “What if’s.” Well, I guessΒ it comes with being an overthinker.

Oh, how I wish there’s a reset button!

But…

“Life is 10% what happens to you and 90% how you handle it.”

We all have those experiences we want to erase from our memories because they haunt us like crazy. Or those decisions that we wish we could have not made because everything would have been different without it. Or maybe even those people we wish we could have not met because we wouldn’t have ended up hurt. And it’s hard to let them goΒ even if you really want to because sometimes you think you’re okay but when something reminds you of them, that’s when you realize you’re really not okay. (You’re not alone!)

But you know what? In the end, everything would still work out long after we thought it wouldn’t because we really don’t know how far we can go unless we get there.

Well, I’ve learned a lot from my regrets. They helped me make better decisions for what lies ahead of me.

And, hey, it’s normal to have regrets and it’s even normal to feel bad about them like there’s no tomorrow but the future is unpredictable – you never know when’s your turn to steer the wheel so always be ready!

Leave a Reply

