I Believe in Happy Endings

Fairytales! We all know the stories – the princesses, the princes, the true love’s kiss and the happily-ever-afters. We all had that dream once as little girls, or maybe even as boys.

Back when I was a little girl, my Mom would sometimes read us, me and my sisters, bedtime stories. Most of which are fairytales. Of course, I enjoyed it! (Who wouldn’t?) I mean it was fun listening to the story of a princess who pricked herself and slept for a hundred years or so till a prince rescued her. Or the one who ended up in a coma till a prince woke her up. Or, my personal fave, the one with the fairy godmother who had one magical night brought her to meeting a prince.

My favorite part? “…And they lived happily ever after. The End.”

I’m sure I’m not the only one. We all love the endings more than the prince to the rescue.

But somehow things changed when reality crept in. Suddenly, there are broken promises and broken hearts. There are deceptions and lies. There is treachery and insincerity. And so, suddenly, endings became so scary and sad.

You know, if there’s one thing people hate the most, it’s saying goodbye because we all know it’s the end.

But then again, there’s the sunset. I believe it’s a proof that endings can still be beautiful just as how the sunset ends the day. I mean, it’s not the same all throughout the year. Sometimes it happens earlier and sometimes a little later. Sometimes it’s a blazing orange and sometimes it’s calmly purple and pink. But one thing is for sure. They’re beautiful all year round.

Happy Endings

Pluck

2 thoughts on “I Believe in Happy Endings

Leave a Reply

